of 5,000 signatures

To John Boumphrey (Amazon UK Country Manager) and Jeff Bezos (Executive Chairman, Amazon):

Open letter text

For us, Prime Day is one of the most dangerous times of the year. During huge pushes like Prime Day and Black Friday, the pressure piles up so high it can land people in hospital.

So this year, we’re asking you to:

- Stop micromanagement
- Bin unfair targets like Time Off Task
- End the constant surveillance

Working in an Amazon warehouse today is so stressful. Even the tools we use, like scanners, are tracking us. We’re always worried about how many seconds we have left to pick up a parcel. We can’t even see all of the targets you track - and it makes it impossible for us to know if our jobs are ever safe.

We try to keep up, but it wears people out.

Drivers are struggling too. 96% of us have said we’ve had to drive dangerously to meet Amazon’s targets, according to a survey of hundreds of drivers from the Organise network.

We’re proud of the work we do to get parcels out to customers. But this inhuman pace can’t go on. It’s not worth risking people’s lives.

Please put this right. Stop the micromanagement. Bin the unfair targets. Let us work with dignity and end the constant surveillance.


6 Oct 2022
Amazon Worker UK Solidarity Rally feat: Amazon Labor Union's Derrick Palmer!
THIS TUESDAY, October 11: UK Amazon Worker International Solidarity Rally, with Derrick Palmer from the US Amazon Labor Union, Rachel Fagan from GMB, Labour Coventry MP Taiwo Owatemi and a special message from US Senator Bernie Sanders. The fightback against Amazon is global – join this international rally to hear about the US fightback against Amazon and essential strategies for how to beat them. Hosted by the GMB union and Foxglove. All details here: https://www.crowdcast.io/c/cyyma7zs8fp4

Sign the open letter

Signers list

Ruth Adcock
Dr Nigel Speight
Arthur Mitchell
Steve Howe
Carol Bodham
Nicola Lawrie
Jill Linzell
Julie Stevenson
Adam Keam
Sarah Streatfeild
Hazel Cooper
Nigel Mason
Chris Miller
Serban Cristian
Atiq Ur Rehman
Terence O'Connor
Lesley Jones
Christopher Scott
Jess Lawson
Hilary Mccutcheon
Anne Pickard
Chas Hayes
Husni Hayat
Victoria Wilson
Des Meyers
Hannah Irvine
Olufemi Peter Adeboye
Francisca Kelly
Sarah Rowbotham
Joan Whalley
Christine Priestley
Helen Hail
David Woosey
Erica Eden
Jo Szymbor
Riyaaz Rashid
Carole Sheen
Debbie Wall
Catherine Baker
Denise Pemberton
Emma Bailey
Karen Bryce
Steve Bergin
Stephen James Nuth
Paul Hostler
Peter Whitaker
Dorothy Cooke
Jane Barker

Next step - spread the word

You're signing this as

Not you? Click here